News - Advocacy
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 12:00 AM

Call to Action From ALA - Urge Your U.S. Representatives to Support Emergency Funding for Libraries

April 15, 2020

On behalf of American Library Association, MLA is asking you to please reach out to your federal house members to let them know what you anticipate for future needs. The next federal stimulus package is being developed as we speak, and Michigan Congressman Andy Levin is once again standing strong and leading the effort for libraries.

Reps. Andy Levin (D-MI), Don Young (R-AK), and Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ) are circulating a Dear Colleague letter calling for $2 billion in emergency funding for libraries through the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The letter will be delivered to the House soon and we need more of our Michigan Representatives to sign on.

We need library supporters to make their voices heard, loud and clear. The letter asking for $2B in additional resources for libraries across our nation closes today so it is imperative that you react quickly.  Please email your representative in the House and urge them to sign and support America's libraries. Let your Representatives know about budget cuts, layoffs, furloughs, let them know how you’re being impacted. Visit ALA's website to contact your U.S. Representatives today.

Take Action

If there are House members in your state who have been supportive of libraries--particularly those that have supported LSTA and IAL campaigns in the past--and have not yet signed onto this letter, please call their offices this morning and follow up with an email asking them to sign the Levin-Young-Grijalva letter today. A list of Representatives who have already signed can be found below.

Click here to download a copy of the letter that you can share with their offices, and they can sign on by contacting Courtney Laudick in Representative Levin’s office at [email protected]. Congressman Levin plans to submit this letter tomorrow afternoon. Please urge your Representatives to sign today or early tomorrow. 

Already signed

  • Don Young
  • Andy Levin
  • Raul M. Grijalva 
  • Paul D. Tonko
  • Eddie Bernice Johnson
  • David Trone
  • Ann Kuster
  • Marcy Kaptur
  • Joe Kennedy, III
  • Ruben Gallego
  • Ayanna Pressley
  • Lucy McBath
  • Bobby L. Rush
  • Jamie Raskin
  • Betty McCollum
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Peter Welch
  • Lisa Blunt Rochester
  • Marcia L. Fudge
  • Nydia M. Velázquez
  • Chris Pappas
  • David N. Cicilline
  • Debbie Dingell
  • Bill Foster
  • Barbara Lee
  • Kathy Castor
  • Tom Cole
  • Bennie G. Thompson
  • Albio Sires
  • Alan Lowenthal
  • Diana DeGette
  • Frederica Wilson
  • Pramila Jayapal
  • Jan Schakowsky

Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo