About | HiStory | Staff & Board of DirectorsCommittees & Work GroupsPolicies and FinancialsDonate | Contact Us

MLA Staff and Board

MLA Staff

Debbie Mikula headshot

Deborah E. Mikula
Executive Director
(517) 394-2774, Ext. 224
[email protected]

Rachel Ash headshotRachel Ash
Membership and Communications Director
(517) 394-2774, Ext. 225
[email protected]

Lisa Buttigieg headshotLisa Buttigieg
Administrative Assistant
(517) 394-2774, Ext. 227
[email protected]

Ryan LoganRyan Logan
Graphic Designer
(517) 394-2774
[email protected]

Elise Penhollow
Database Coordinator
(517) 394-2774, Ext. 223
[email protected]

Amber Sheerin HeadshotAmber Sheerin
Program and Event Director
(517) 394-2774, Ext. 226
[email protected]



Board of Directors

2020-2021 Officers

ALA Councilor

Jennifer Dean headshot

Jennifer L. Dean
University of Detroit Mercy Libraries

Past President

Kristin Shelley headshot

Kristin Shelley
Library Director
East Lansing Public Library


Kelly Richards headshot

Kelly Richards
Library Director
Muskegon Area District Library




Scott Duimstra Headshot

Scott Duimstra
Library Director 
Capital Area District Libraries

2020-2021 Board of Directors

Amber Alexander headshot

Amber Alexander
Library Director
Presque Isle District Library

Mollie Freier

Mollie Freier
Professor and Head of Public Services
Northern Michigan University

Tim Gleisner
Head of Special Collections
Library of Michigan

Anne Heidemann. Tribal Librarian at Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan

Anne Heidemann
Tribal Librarian
Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan

Loretta Hunter
LRC Coordinator
Wayne County Community College District

Cat Kerns

Cat Kerns
Michigan Association for Media in Education (MAME)

Karen Knox headshot

Karen Knox
Library Director
Orion Township Public Library

Jasmine Parker
Youth Services/Teen Librarian
Ferndale Area District Library

Debbie Mikula headshot

Deborah E. Mikula
Executive Director
Michigan Library Associatio

Randy Riley

Randy Riley
State Librarian
Library of Michigan

Kate Van Auken headshot

Kate Van Auken
White Pine Library Cooperative

Ryan Wieber headshot

Ryan Wieber
Library Director
Kalamazoo Public Library


 Staff photos by McShane Photography



Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo