News - MLA
Thursday, November 01, 2018 12:00 AM

MLA 2018 Literary Award Winners

The Michigan Library Association is pleased to announce the 2018 literary award winners of the Mitten, YouPer and Thumbs Up! awards. The award selection work groups are comprised of Michigan librarians who consider hundreds of children's books annually to determine the winners. 

The Wolf the Duck & the Mouse book cover

2018 Mitten Award

The winner of the 2018 Mitten Award is The Wolf, the Duck & the Mouse, written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen, published 2017 by Candlewick Press. Honor Books include: After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again written and illustrated by Dan Santat, Bob, not Bob! (To Be Read as if You Have the Worst Cold Ever) by Elizabeth Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick, illustrated by Matthew Cordell, Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero by Patricia McCormick, illustrated by Iacopo Bruno and Town Is By the Sea by Joanne Schwartz, illustrated by Sydney Smith.

The Mitten Award is designed to recognize and promote quality literature for youth in picture book format. Read more about the Mitten Award.

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow book cover

2018 YouPer Award

The YouPer or Young Person Award recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in chapter book format. The winner of the 2018 YouPer Award is Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend, published in 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Honor books include: Refugee by Alan Gratz, Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia, Posted by John David Anderson and Forever or a Long, Long Time by Caela Carter. Read more about the YouPer Award.

2018 Thumbs Up! AwardThe Hate U Give book cover

The Thumbs Up! Award recognizes and promotes an outstanding contribution to teen literature that has both literary quality and teen appeal for those 13 to 18 years of age. A teen vote is included in help determine the winner.

The 2018 Thumbs Up! Award winner is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, published in 2017 by HarperCollins Publisher. Honor Books include: One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus, Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia and Solo by Kwame Alexander with Mary Rand Hess. Read more about the Thumbs Up! Award.

Thank you to the 2018 Mitten Work Group, chaired by Audra Eddy, Saline District Library, the 2018 YouPer Work Group, chaired by Tracy Bedford, Clarkston Independence District Library and Alexa Lalejini, Swan Valley High School, and the 2018 Thumbs Up! Work Group, chaired by Abigail Pylar, Portage District Library.


Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo