The Mitten Award recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in picture book format. First given in 1999 by the Children’s Services Division of the Michigan Library Association, the award is given annually to one children’s book originally published in the United States during the calendar year that has captured the attention of youth librarians throughout the State of Michigan for its ability to communicate through literature to an intended audience. The award selection work group is comprised of Michigan librarians who consider hundreds of children’s books annually to determine a winner. Mitten Award Guidelines (pdf)

2024 Mitten Award Top Ten Titles 

MLA Youth Literary Award workgroups spent thousands of hours reading, reviewing, and discussing hundreds of books to determine the top titles for youth published in 2023. Check out the 2024 MItten Award Top Ten Titles and save the date! The winners and honor books will be announced on Friday, June 7 at 10:00 AM on our social media and website!

(Listed in random order) 

An American Story by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Dare Coulter

How To Count to One: And Don't Even Think About Bigger Numbers! by Caspar Salmon, illustrated by Matt Hunt

Big written and illustrated by Vashti Harrison

The Search for the Giant Arctic Jellyfish written and illustrated by Chloe Savage

Mole is Not Alone written and illustrated by Maya Tatsukawa 

Scroll written and illustrated by Hui Li

Stickler Loves the World by Lane Smith, illustrated by Lane Smith

Summer is for Cousins by Rajani Larocca, illustrated by Abhi Alwar

The Red Jacket written and illustrated by Bob Holt

I'm Going to Build a Snowman by Jashar Awan, illustrated by Jashar Awan 

Mitten Award Seals

Download the Mitten Award seals to use at your library! Winner, Honor Book and Top Ten Title award seals are available for download here: (To download, right-click on the seal and save it as an image.)


Past Mitten Award Winners and Honor Books

2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023

Mitten Award Winners and Honor Books (pdf)

Mitten Award Home


Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo