2018-2019 Professional Development Work Groups

MLA 2018 Annual Conference

  • Chair: Tanya Davidson
  • Scott Duimstra, Capital Area District Library
  • Cristen Jackson, Genesee District Library
  • Kay McAdam, Van Buren District Library
  • Jessica Parij, Rochester Hills Public Library
  • Mindy Schafer, DeWitt District Library
  • Jill Sodt, Mott Community College
  • Lisa Waskin, Superior District Library
  • April Stevenson, Novi Public Library
  • Lindsay Frickle, Novi Public Library

MLA 2019 Annual Conference

  • Chair: Juliane Morian, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
  • Kathryn Bergeron, Kalamazoo Public Library
  • Amber Clement, Presque Isle District Library
  • Lindsey Dorfman, Kent District Library
  • Holly Hentz, Hamburg Township Library
  • Claire Lopiccolo, Romeo District Library
  • Linda Lyshol, Branch District Library
  • Janelle Martin, Lapeer District Library
  • Marlena Moore, Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence
  • Lisa Mulvenna, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
  • Karren Reish, Library of Michigan
  • Jennifer Roth, Westland Public Library

Spring Institute 2019

  • Chair: Cassie Veselovsky, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Vice Chair: Beth Lowe, Fowlerville District Library
  • Tracy Bedford, Clarkston Independence District Library  
  • Tonya DuPree, Detroit Public Library       
  • Mark Jemerson, Grand Rapids Public Library
  • Sara Magnuson, Kent District Library - Nelson Twp/Sand Lake     
  • Tina Rossow, Clarkston Independence Dist. Library           
  • Lydia Schmidt, Hackley Public Library      
  • Jeanette Smith, Romeo District Library/Kezar Branch

Academic Libraries 2019
March 15, 2019

  • Chair: Stephanie A. Coffer, Wayne County Community College District
  • Jodi Coalter, Wayne State University
  • Rhonda Fowler, Eastern Michigan University
  • Monique Oldfield, Wayne State University Libraries
  • Jill Sodt, Mott Library, Mott Community College

Human Resources 2019
April 4, 2019

  • Chair: Jessica Parij, Rochester Hills Public Library
  • Gretchen Evans, Bridgman Public Library
  • Marta Litos, Lansing Community College

Community Collaborations 2019
April 15, 2019

  • Chair: James Oliver, Charlotte Community Library
  • Laura Geiken, Dearborn Public Library
  • Bridget Ward, Grand Rapids Public Library

Library Hospitality 2019
May 3, 2019

  • Chair: Michael Postula, Ann Arbor District Library
  • Kristina Reynolds, Bath Township Public Library
  • Kristen Valyi-Hax, Harper Woods Public Library

Marketing the Library 2019
May 14, 2019

  • Chair: Dale Parus, Ionia Community Library
  • Lynne Bustin, Bacon Memorial Library
  • Debra Greenacre, Manistee County Library

Executive Summit 2019
May 31, 2019

  • Chair: Bryan J. Cloutier, Oxford Public Library
  • Julia Meredith, Clarkston Independence District Library
  • Teresa Williams Krupar, Fennville District Library 

2018-2019 Award Work Groups

Michigan Author Award

Coordinate the application, nomination, selection and promotional process to recognize an outstanding body of work by a current Michigan resident or author whose works are identified with Michigan because of subject. Read more about the Michigan Author Award here.

2019 Work Group:

  • Chair: Dee Beaver, Dexter District Library
  • Christan Bulin, ITHAKA
  • Julie Miller
  • Jill Sodt, Mott Community College
  • Jill Spreitzer, University of Detroit Mercy Libraries
  • Eric Stanton, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Jordan Wright, Ferndale Area District Library

Mitten Award

Recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in picture book format. Read more about the Mitten Award here.

2019 Work Group:

  • Co-Chair: Dawn Heerspink, Kent District Library- Byron Twp. Branch
  • Co-Chair: Kathy Merucci, Salem-South Lyon District Library
  • Kyra Dalrymple, Paw Paw District Library
  • Mary Daugherty, Salem-South Lyon District Library
  • Carrie Gawne, Jackson District Library
  • Michael Golczynski, Ionia Community Library
  • Ashley Lehman, Orion Township Library
  • Jocelyn Levin, Lyon Township Public Library
  • Peggy Parrish, Clinton Township Public Library
  • Mindy Schafer, DeWitt District Library
  • Angela Warsinske, Rochester Hills Public Library
  • Loni Wetherell, Cromaine District Library
  • Ashten Wilkey, Kent District Library - Wyoming Branch
  • Amy Young, Clinton-Macomb Public Library

YouPer (Young Person) Award

Recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in chapter book format. Read more about the YouPer Award here.

2019 Work Group:

  • Chair: Alexa Lalejini, Swan Valley High School
  • Vice Chair: Killian Weston, Bloomfield Township Public Library
  • Lisa Boyd, Canton Public Library
  • Lauren Catoni, Bloomfield Township Public Library
  • Heather Draft, Cromaine District Library
  • Whitney Hagen, Paw Paw District Library
  • Rebecca Hermen, Dearborn Public Library
  • Cheryl Lawrence, Branch District Library
  • Nakenya Lewis-Yarbrough, Belleville Area District Library
  • Brittany Wesner, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
  • Liz Wierenga, Kent District Library- Plainfield

Thumbs Up! Award

Recognizes an outstanding contribution to teen literature that has both literary quality and teen appeal for those 13 to 18 years of age. Read more about the Thumbs Up! Award here.

2019 Work Group:

  • Chair: Jana Slisher, Portland District Library
  • Vice Chair: Cristen Jackson, Genesee District Library - Genesee Valley Center
  • Natalya Anton, Fowlerville District Library
  • Kayla Dies, Paw Paw District Library
  • Sarah Donetti, ICPSR
  • Gretchen Dula, Jackson District Library
  • Kelly Dykwell, Marshall District Library
  • Sarah Eisele, St. Joseph / MP Palenske Memorial Library
  • Shanni Kerr, Ionia Community Library
  • Abigail Pylar, Portage District Library
  • Patricia White, Sterling Heights Public Library