News - MLA
Friday, March 24, 2023 12:00 AM

Meet the Candidates for the MLA 2023 Board Election

MLA will hold elections from April 3 – 24, 2023. This year MLA members will vote for an MLA President-elect and four Member-at-Large Board positions. These positions will serve for three-year terms beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026.

Meet the candidates! Click on their photos below to get to know the candidates for the 2023 Board Election.

Eligible members will receive an email on April 3 with instructions and a link to vote.



Dillon Geshel

Dillon Geshel
Director, Superiorland Library Cooperative










Bryonna Barton

Bryonna Barton
Director, Eaton Rapids Area District Library

John Clexton

John Clexton
Director, Gladwin County District Library

Mary Higginbottom Johnson

Mary Higginbottom Johnson
Associate Director of Operations, Muskegon Area District Library

Michele Howard

Michele Howard
Director, Traverse Area District Library

Jessica Keyser

Jessica Keyser 
Director, Grosse Pointe Public Library

Kristin Shelley

Kristin Shelley
Director, East Lansing Public Library

Shaunna Martz 
Regional Manager II, Kent District Library

Kate Van Auken

Kate Van Auken 
Director, White Pine Library Cooperative

Lisa Waskin 
Director, Superior District Library











Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo