Sponsored by the Walter H. Kaiser Award

The Heart of a Champion Award was established in 2012 to recognize a library supporter who has shown an exceptional commitment to libraries and/or the library profession. Winners of this award will show their support to the library profession through continued advocacy, supporting or providing funding for the local library, or continued support of Michigan Library Association activities.

The nomination period for the 2019 MLA Heart of a Champion Award is open through July 1, 2019. Download the nomination guidelines (pdf) for detailed information.

Congratulations 2016 MLA Heart of a Champion Winners

Linda Lavey Heart of a Champion

Congratulations to Linda Lavey of Pinckney Community Library and John Schaeffer of Presque Isle District Library for receiving this well-deserved award. Their efforts at their libraries and communities have had a positive influence on librarians and patrons around them. Here are a few words from the library directors who nominated Linda and John:

"Linda has been a wonderful and supportive village president. She is a very hard worker in anything she puts her mind to do. She has been a patron of the library since... well, forever! And that knowledge and love of the library's and community's history has truly been invaluable in our marketing and promotion, as well as the passing of our library's millage to acquire a bond for a new building in 2011 and our request for an operational millage increase in 2014. Most of all, she has been a fantastic advocate for the Pinckney Library." -Hope Siasoco, Director of Pinckney Community Library

John Schaeffer Heart of a Champion

"John's dedication to not just his community library but to libraries across the Upper Peninsula and beyond has been a great asset to what it means to support the true foundation of what a library can do for its community and what an individual can do for their library." -Amber Clement, Director of Presque Isle District Library

Past Heart of a Champion Award Winners

2013 | 2015