The Fog Diver Named 2016 MLA YouPer Award Winner

2016 YouPer Award Winner The Fog Diver By Joel RossThe Michigan Library Association (MLA) is pleased to announce that The Fog Diver by Joel Ross, published 2015 by HarperCollins, is the winner of the 2016 MLA YouPer (Young Person) Award.

The Fog Diver starts off an adventure series set in a place where three determined adolescent characters live in the sky and just might become heroes. When survival isn’t enough, main characters Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea and Swedish must go on a risky journey to the city of Port Oro to cure their beloved Mrs. E of fogsickness. While on their perilous journey, cold-blooded Lord Kodoc trails closely behind, desperate to use a well-kept secret of Chess’s against him. Chess must now face any danger to protect his friends and confront his worst fears.

The Fog Diver has attracted prominent attention, including being nominated for the 2016-2017 Texas Bluebonnet Award and receiving a starred review from Kirkis Reviews, “Ross wastes no time with his worldbuilding, establishing Chess and his crew as a misfit found family working the Fog by day and sharing stories by night. It’s a fresh approach, reminiscent of Dickens…the only thing missing is a sequel, which readers hope won’t be far behind.”

Joel Ross lives in Santa Barbara, California with his wife, who is also a full-time writer and their son Ben. He has written other works including two World War II thrillers for adults, Double Cross Blind and White Flag as well as his most recent sequel to The Fog Diver: The Lost Compass.

This year’s honor books include:

  • Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
  • The Underground Abductor by Nathan Hale

YouPer Award home


Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo