Legislative Committee

Monitors legislative and policy issues impacting libraries and makes policy recommendations to the board. Informs and educates members about state legislation and policy issues. Contacts legislators as needed to educate them about library concerns. Works closely with MLA executive director.

2018-19 Legislative Committee

  • Chair: Ryan Wieber, Kalamazoo Public Library
  • MLA President: Kristin Shelley, East Lansing Public Library
  • Clara Bohrer, West Bloomfield Twp. Public Library
  • Shirley Bruursema, Kent District Library
  • Dennis Hillers, Adrian Dominican Sisters
  • Jessica Keyser, Grosse Pointe Public Library
  • Kevin King, Kalamazoo Public Library
  • Cindy Mack, Brighton District Library
  • Jenny Marr, Ferndale Area District Library
  • Gail Parsons, Traverse Area District Library
  • James Pletz, The Library Network
  • Kelly Richards, Muskegon Area District Library
  • Erin Schmandt, Caro Area District Library
  • Lance Werner, Kent District Library

Professional Development and Networking Committee

Anticipates emerging trends and hot topics. Works with staff as a think tank for ideas and insight to help identify the kinds of training our members will need to excel in the libraries of the future as well as today. Members must have prior experience on an MLA work group to participate on this committee.

2018-19 PDNC

  • Chair: Vanessa Verdun-Morris, Taylor Community Library  
  • Mattie Cook, Flat River Community Library
  • Tim Gleisner, Library of Michigan
  • Kathy Irwin, Central Michigan University
  • Kip Odell, Kent District Library
  • Jason Shoup, Jackson District Library
  • Lisa Valerio Nowc, Royal Oak Township Library
  • Lisa Waskin, Superior District Library