2017 Legislator of the Year

In 2017, MLA awarded Rep. Lee Chatfield (R-Levering), Sen. Jim Stamas (R-Midland) and Sen. Rick Jones (R-Grand Ledge) with the MLA Legislator of the Year recognition.

Rep. Lee Chatfield

LANSING – State Rep. Lee Chatfield (R-Levering) was recognized as Michigan Library Association Legislator of the Year for his leadership in promoting libraries and supporting legislation advancing the library mission. Chatfield received his award at a community-wide celebration at the Pickford Community Library in Pickford, Mich. The library is a member of the Superior District Library.

Chatfield represents the 107th District which encompasses Chippewa, Emmet and Mackinac counties, and in Cheboygan County: Koehler, Tuscarora, Beaugrand, Hebron, Mackinaw and Munro townships and the city of Cheboygan.

"Rep. Chatfield understands how essential libraries are to their communities and the need to keep them adequately funded and supported," said Gail Madziar, MLA Executive Director. "He was instrumental this past year in helping pass legislation that gave libraries a voice in how tax capture authorities and tax increment financing could use specially dedicated library millages."

The bills ensured the millages are used to fund libraries while promoting transparency and accountability for voters.

The MLA Legislator of the Year award recognizes lawmakers for their action on legislation impacting libraries and for their work supporting libraries and the communities they serve.

Sen. Rick Jones

LANSING – State Sen. Rick Jones (R-Grand Ledge) was recognized as Michigan Library Association Legislator of the Year for his leadership in promoting libraries and supporting legislation advancing the library mission. Jones received his award at the Grand Ledge Area District Library.

Jones represents the 24th State Senate District which encompasses Clinton County, Eaton County, Shiawassee County and parts of Ingham County including Leroy Township, Locke Township, Wheatfield Township, Williamston city, Williamstown Township.

"Sen. Jones recognizes the role libraries play in providing access to information and education in their communities and the need to keep them adequately funded," said Gail Madziar, MLA Executive Director. "This past year he helped pass legislation giving libraries a voice in how tax capture authorities and tax increment financing could use specially dedicated library millages."

The bills ensured the millages are used to fund libraries while promoting transparency and accountability for voters.

The MLA Legislator of the Year award recognizes lawmakers for their action on legislation impacting libraries and for their work supporting libraries and the communities they serve.