2016 Michigan Author Award Winner – Jacqueline Carey


Michigan Library Association (MLA) is pleased to announce Jacqueline Carey as the 2016 Michigan Author Award Winner. The award will be presented at a luncheon during the MLA 2016 Annual Conference in Lansing on Wednesday, October 26, 2016.

Carey is a New York Times bestseller. Some of her works include the award-winning historical fantasy Kushiel’s Legacy series, The Sundering epic fantasy duology, postmodern fables Santa Olivia and Saints Astray and the Agent of Hel contemporary fantasy series.

A work group representing MLA members determined the recipient on overall literary merit. To be eligible, authors must be a current resident of Michigan, a long-time resident of Michigan, recently relocated or an author whose works are identified with Michigan because of subject and/or setting.

“MLA members were excited to select Jacqueline Carey this year. She has written many high-quality works,” Michigan Author Award Work Group Chair Amelia Mowry said. “Michigan should be proud to have such a skilled writer living here.”

In her free time, Carey enjoys traveling which has taken her to places including China and Iceland. She hails from the Midwest, born in Highland Park Illinois and currently resides in west Michigan.

Past Michigan Author Award Winners include: Dan Gerber, Charles Baxter, Nancy Willard, Janet Kauffman, Elmore Leonard, Loren Estleman, Gloria Whelan, Jerry Dennis, Janie Lynn Panagopoulos, Thomas Lynch, Nicholas Delbanco, Diane Wakoski, Patricia Polacco, Christopher Paul Curtis, Steve Hamilton, Sarah Stewart, Tom Stanton, Dave Dempsey, John Smolens, Gary Schmidt, Bonnie Jo Campbell, Laura Kasischke, Jim Harrison and David Small.

Michigan Author Award Home