But you won't need to wait to find out who won! We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Michigan Library Awards! The 2022 honorees were unveiled on Wednesday, October 19 during the Michigan Library Awards event in Port Huron at an evening of celebration. Each recipient was chosen through peer review for their outstanding achievements.

#### **HEART OF A CHAMPION**

Dr. Charles (Charlie) Mitchell, Brown City Library in Brown City, MI, was awarded the 2022 Heart of a Champion. This award recognizes a library supporter who has shown an exceptional commitment to libraries.

## SCHOOL LIBRARIAN OF THE YEAR

Rebecca Lowe from Scripps Middle School in Lake Orion, MI was named the School Librarian of the Year.

award celebrates and honors those who have championed school libraries through volunteerism, administrative support and advocacy.

# FRANCES H. PLETZ AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE TO YOUTH

Kelly Altman from the Presque Isle District Library received the 2022 Frances H. Pletz Award for Excellence in Service to Youth. This award recognizes a Michigan librarian for their outstanding contribution to the field of library service to youth.

#### LIBRARY SUPPORT STAFF OF THE YEAR

Jeff Milo from the Ferndale Area District Library was named the Library Support Staff of the

Year. This award recognizes a support staff professional who goes above and beyond at their library and has advanced and strengthened the image of support staff.

#### **PUBLIC LIBRARIAN OF THE YEAR**

Monica Peck from the Boyne District Library was named the 2022 Public Librarian of the Year. This award recognizes an outstanding library professional that inspires people and provides innovative and exceptional library service to their community.

# **RISING STAR**

Amanda Vorce from the Capital Area District Libraries was named the 2022 Rising Star. The Rising Star Award recognizes a librarian who shows leadership early in their career, expanding the role of librarians and moving libraries into the future.

### **ACADEMIC LIBRARIAN OF THE YEAR**

The Academic Librarian of the Year was awarded to Jeremy Barney from the Hope College Library in Holland, MI. This award recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of a librarian or library administrator and their contributions to their institution and academic libraries within the academic year.

#### LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Amy Knepp from the Oscoda County District Library in Mio, Michigan. This award recognizes a deserving librarian for their distinguished service to the library profession over the course of their career.

### STATE LIBRARIAN'S CITATIONS OF EXCELLENCE

LeRoy Public Library in Leroy, MI, and the Lake Odessa Community Library, in Lake Odessa received the State Librarian's Citations of Excellence. These are awarded by the Library of Michigan Foundation and the Library of Michigan each year to highlight the importance of Michigan libraries' services. The Citations of Excellence Awards are supported by the Library of Michigan Foundation.

# STATE LIBRARIAN'S EXCELLENCE AWARD

The State Librarian's Excellence Award was awarded to Dearborn Public Library. This award highlights the importance of Michigan libraries' services and recognizes an exemplary library for its commitment to excellence. The State Librarian's Excellence Award is sponsored by the Roger and June B. Mendel Fund through the Library of Michigan Foundation.

#### LEGISLATIVE LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

State Senator Wayne Schmidt of the 37th District and State Senator Jim Stamas of the 36th District were awarded Legislative Lifetime Achievement Awards. The Legislative Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to elected officials in recognition of outstanding leadership in promoting libraries and supporting legislation or amendments that advance our legislative goals throughout their tenure in the legislature.