

Past MI A Award Winners

ı	ifatima	Achievement	Awara
	11011110	ACHIEVEI LEIL	AWALL

2024 - Holly Hibner, Plymouth District Library

2023 - Paul McCann, Dexter District Library

2022 - Amy Knepp, Oscoda County District Library

2021 - Peggy Kitchel, Grosse Pointe Public Library

2020 – Kevin King, Kalamazoo Public Library

Public Librarian of the Year Award

2024 - Rob Carpenter, Herrick District Library

2023 - Megan Buck, Dickinson County Library

2022 - Monica Peck, Boyne District Library

2021 - Teresa Kline, Fennville District Library

2020 - Jessica Trotter, Capital Area District Libraries

2019 - Cathy Russ, Troy Public Library

2017 - Lance Werner, Kent District Library

2016 - Tammy Turgeon, Sterling Heights Public Library/Suburban Library Cooperative

2015 - Denise Hooks, Mideastern Michigan Library Cooperative

2014 - Kenneth B. Miller, Jr., Superior District Library

2013 - Larry Neal, Clinton-Macomb Public Library

2012 - Marcia Warner, Grand Rapids Public Library

2011 – Linda Masselink, Grand Valley State University

2010 - Martha Esch, Kent District Library

2009 - Ruth Dukelow, Michigan Library Consortium

2008 - Cliff Haka, Michigan State University Libraries

2007 – James Rancilio, Bullard Sanford Memorial

2006 - Bettina Meyer, Western Michigan University

2005 - Judi Stillion, Alpena County Library

2004 - Beverly D. Papai, Farmington Community Library

2003 – James Seidl, Woodlands Library Cooperative

2002 - Colleen Hyslop, Michigan State University

2001 - David Tate, Van Buren District Library

2000 - Roger Mendel, Mideastern Library Cooperative

Heart of a Champion Award

2024 – Julie Bernstein, Bridgman Public Library

2023 - James Bolton, Superior District Library - Pickford Community Library

- 2022 Dr. Charles (Charlie) Mitchell, Brown City Library
- 2021 Lyle Clark, Rawson Memorial Library
- 2020 Susan Matthews, Friends of the Troy Public Library
- 2019 Donna Adams, Forsyth Township Public Library
- 2018 Congressman Sander Levin
- 2016 John Schaeffer, Superior District Library/Superiorland Library Cooperative & Linda Lavey, Pinckney Community Library
- 2015 Barbara Pallotta, Charter Township of Independence
- 2013 Edward Albertson, Brandon Township Public Library
- 2012 Representative Bill Rogers

Rising Star Award

- 2024 Wren Davis, Macdonald Public Library
- 2023 Georgina Broyles, MacDonald Public Library
- 2022 Amanda Vorce, Capital Area District Libraries
- 2021 Marissa Boisclair, Genesee District Library
- 2020 Betty Adams, Leanna Hicks Public Library of Inkster
- 2019 Danielle DiAmico, Bay County Library System

Up and Comer Award

- 2018 Dillon Geshel, Portage Lake District Library
- 2014 Andrea Estelle, Otsego District Library
- 2012 Natalie Bazan, Hopkins District Library

Frances H. Pletz Award for Excellence in Service to Youth.

- 2024 Jill Ann Lansky, Kalamazoo Public Library
- 2023 Nisa Kesseler, Petoskey District Library
- 2022 Kelly Altman, Presque Isle District Library
- 2021 Sara Magnuson, Kent District Library
- 2020 Stephanie Reinhardt, Bay County Library System
- 2018 Brenda Patterson Harris
- 2016 Patricia McClary
- 2014 Anne Clark

Library Support Staff of the Year Award

- 2024 Katie LeBlanc, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
- 2023 Victoria Edwards, West Bloomfield Township Public Library
- 2022 Jeff Milo, Ferndale Area District Library
- 2021 Amy Beckman, Millington Arbela District Library
- 2020 Jermaine Jackson, Kalamazoo Public Library

Intellection Freedom Award

- 2024 Kent District Library
- 2023 Caro Area District Library

Legislator of the Year Award

2024 - Representative Regina Weiss & Representative Angela Witwer

2023 - Senator Debbie Stabenow

2022 - Senator Jim Stamas and Senator Wayne Schmidt

2021 - Senator Wayne Schmidt

2020 - Senator Wayne Schmidt and Representative Andy Levin

2019 - Senator Paul Wojno

2018 - Senator Jim Stamas

2017 – Senator Jack Brandenburg, Representative Lee Chatfield, Senator Rick Jones, & Senator Jim Stamas

2016 - Senator Jack Brandenburg

2015 - Senator Jack Brandenburg

2014 - Senator Jack Brandenburg

2013 - Senator Geoff Hansen & Representative Jim Stamas

Above and Beyond Award

2020 - Clare Membiela, Library of Michigan

President's Award for Service to MLA Margaret Auer, University of Detroit Mercy