Work Groups

2017-2018 Professional Development Work Groups

MLA 2018 Annual Conference

  • Chair: Tanya Davidson, Marygrove College
  • Scott Duimstra, Capital Area District Library
  • Cristen Jackson, Genesee District Library
  • Kay McAdam, Van Buren District Library
  • Jessica Parij, Rochester Hills Public Library
  • Mindy Schafer, DeWitt District Library
  • Jill Sodt, Mott Community College
  • Lisa Waskin, Superior District Library
  • April Stevenson, Novi Public Library
  • Lindsay Frickle, Novi Public Library

Spring Institute 2018

  • Chair: Thais Rousseau, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Vice Chair: Cassie Veselovsky, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Lydia Daniels, Hackley Public Library
  • Mike Golczynski, Ionia Community Library
  • Mark Jemerson, Grand Rapids Public Library
  • Jocelyn Levin, Lyon Township Public Library
  • Jeanette Smith, Romeo District Library
  • Tonya DuPree, Detroit Public Library
  • April Hughes, Cass District Library
  • Ashley Lehman, Ferndale Area District Library
  • Dena Moscheck, Lapeer District Library

Academic Libraries 2018

  • Tashia Munson, University of Michigan
  • Richard Partick Sanders, Wayne State University
  • Jill Spreitzer, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Martha Stuit, Washtenaw Community College & U of M

Community Collaborations: Homelessness in Libraries Workshop

  • Chair: Jill Abood, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Maria McCarville, Public Libraries of Saginaw
  • Emanuela DeCenso, Madonna University
  • Amy Nelson, Warren Public Library

Fundraising Tips and Tricks Workshop

  • Karren Reish, Library of Michigan
  • Eric Magness-Eubank, Alpena County George N. Fletcher Public Library
  • Lisa Valerio-Nowc, Royal Oak Township Public Library

Hard Conversations: Hiring, Firing and Conflict Management Workshop

  • Linda Lyshol, Branch District Library
  • Bethany Kennedy, Washtenaw Community College
  • Bryan Cloutier, Oxford Public Library
  • Michael Postula , Ann Arbor District Library

Awards Work Groups

Michigan Author Award

Coordinate the application, nomination, selection and promotional process to recognize an outstanding body of work by a current Michigan resident or author whose works are identified with Michigan because of subject. Read more about the Michigan Author Award here.

2017-2018 Work Group:

  • Chair: Kathryn Bergeron, Kalamazoo Public Library - Oshtemo Branch
  • Dee Beaver, Salem-South Lyon District Library
  • Dennis Kreps, Richland Community Library
  • Kristen Valyi-Hax, Harper Woods Public Library
  • Laura Brown, Chelsea District Library
  • Eric Stanton, Capital Area District Libraries (Okemos)
  • Kathy Irwin, Central Michigan University

Mitten Award

Recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in picture book format. Read more about the Mitten Award here.

2017-2018 Work Group:

  • Chair: Audra Eddy, Saline District Library
  • Amanda Vorce, Commerce Township Community Library
  • Dawn Heerspink, Kent District Library- Byron Township Branch
  • Janice Heilman, Howell Carnegie District Library
  • Kathy Merucci, Salem-South Lyon District Library
  • Kristy Zeluff, Portage District Library
  • Marta-Kate Jackson, Hartland's Cromaine District Library
  • Patricia Ballard, Bloomfield Township Public Library
  • Paulina Poplawska, Capital Area District Libraries - Holt Delhi
  • Stephanie Lyon, Brighton District Library
  • Stewart Fritz, Kalamazoo public library

YouPer (Young Person) Award

Recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in chapter book format. Read more about the YouPer Award here.

2017-2018 Work Group:

  • Co-Chair: Alexa Lalejini, Clarkston Independence District Library
  • Co-Chair: Tracy Bedford, Clarkston Independence District Library
  • Andrea Cosier, Manistee County Library
  • Andrea Smalley, Portage District Library
  • Brittany Trudeau, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
  • Elizabeth Wierenga, Kent District Library- Plainfield Twp. branch
  • Emily Marsh, Auburn Area Branch Library
  • Killian Weston, Bloomfield Township Public Library
  • Lauren Baker, Plymouth District Library
  • Lynn Pearce, Clinton-Macomb Public Library
  • Nakenya Lewis-Yarbrough, Belleville Area District Library

Thumbs Up! Award

Recognizes an outstanding contribution to teen literature that has both literary quality and teen appeal for those 13 to 18 years of age. Read more about the Thumbs Up! Award here.

2017-2018 Work Group:

  • Chair: Abigail Pylar, Portage District Library
  • Brandi Swinehart, Allen Park Library
  • Catherine Yezak , Goodland Township Library
  • Elissa Zimmer, Fraser Public Library
  • Elizabeth Norton, Commerce Township Community Library
  • Heather Draft, Cromaine District Library
  • Jana Slisher, Portland District Library
  • Laura Geiken, Dearborn Public Library
  • Nisa Kesseler, Petoskey District Library
  • Sara Magnuson, Kent District Library - Nelson Twp/Sand Lake
  • Shanni Kerr, Ionia Community Library
  • Whitney Hagen, Paw Paw District Library