Standing Committees

Legislative Committee

Monitors legislative and policy issues impacting libraries and makes policy recommendations to the board. Informs and educates members about state legislation and policy issues. Contacts legislators as needed to educate them about library concerns. Works closely with MLA executive director.

2016-2017 Legislative Committee

  • Chair: Mary Rzepczynski, Delta Township District Library
  • Vice Chair: Kristin Shelley, East Lansing Public Library
  • Lance Werner, Kent District Library
  • Clara Bohrer, West Bloomfield Twp. Public Library
  • Shirley Bruursema, Kent District Library
  • Bruce MacDonald, Peter White Public Library
  • Gail Parsons, Traverse Area District Library
  • Dale Parus, Ionia Community Library
  • James Pletz, The Library Network
  • Kelly Richards, Muskegon Area District Library
  • Erin Schmandt, Caro Area District Library
  • John Sheridan, Vicksburg District Library
  • Kimberly White, Public Libraries of Saginaw
  • Steven Bowers, Detroit Area Library Network (DALNET)

Professional Development and Networking Committee

Anticipates emerging trends and hot topics. Works with staff as a think tank for ideas and insight to help identify the kinds of training our members will need to excel in the libraries of the future as well as today. Members must have prior experience on an MLA work group to participate on this committee.

2016-2017 PDNC

  • Chair:  Teresa Williams Krupar, Fenville District Library
  • Anne Elias, Delta College
  • Vanessa Morris, Taylor Community Library
  • Angela Semifero, Marshall District Library
  • Jason Shoup, East Lansing Public Library
  • Lisa Waskin, Superior District Library

Communications & Membership Committee

Adds value to the MLA communication vehicles through member-driven content as well as engage the library community through social media efforts and helps recruit mentors and mentees for the MLA Mentor Program.

2016-2017 Communications & Membership Committee

  • Asante Cain, Grand Rapids Public Library
  • Tim Gleisner, Herrick District Library
  • Jocelyn Levin, Baldwin Public Library
  • Nakenya Lewis-Yarbrough, Plymouth District Library
  • Bill Marino, Eastern Michigan University
  • Kathie Mason, Eastern Michigan University
  • Sherri McConnell, Capital Area District Libraries
  • Sonya Schryer Norris, Library of Michigan
  • Stephanie Willoughby, Vicksburg District Library