Legislator of the Year

The MLA Legislator of the Year is awarded to elected officals in recognition of outstanding leadership in promoting libraries and supporting legislation or amendments that advance our legislative goals.

In 2017, MLA awarded Rep. Lee Chatfield (R-Levering), Sen.Jim Stamas (R-Midland) and Sen. Rick Jones (R-Grand Ledge) with the MLA Legislator of the Year recognition.

Rep. Lee Chatfield

LANSING – State Rep. Lee Chatfield (R-Levering) was recognized as Michigan Library Association Legislator of the Year for his leadership in promoting libraries and supporting legislation advancing the library mission. Chatfield received his award at a community-wide celebration at the Pickford Community Library in Pickford, Mich. The library is a member of the Superior District Library.   

Chatfield represents the 107th District which encompasses Chippewa, Emmet and Mackinac counties, and in Cheboygan County: Koehler, Tuscarora, Beaugrand, Hebron, Mackinaw and Munro townships and the city of Cheboygan. 

Rep. Chatfield understands how essential libraries are to their communities and the need to keep them adequately funded and supported,” said Gail Madziar, MLA Executive Director. He was instrumental this past year in helping pass legislation that gave libraries a voice in how tax capture authorities and tax increment financing could use specially dedicated library millages.  

The bills ensured the millages are used to fund libraries while promoting transparency and accountability for voters. 

The MLA Legislator of the Year award recognizes lawmakers for their action on legislation impacting libraries and for their work supporting libraries and the communities they serve. 

List of Past MLA Legislator of the Year Honorees


Senator Jack Brandenburg (R-Harrison Township)


Senator Jack Brandenburg (R-Harrison Township)


Senator Jack Brandenburg (R-Harrison Township)